TXOGA Property Tax Representatives Annual Conference
Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend

2/19/2020 to 2/20/2020
When: February 19 - 20, 2020
Where: Hyatt Regency San Antonio Riverwalk
123 Losoya Street
San Antonio, Texas  78205
United States
Contact: Layne Wroblewski
(405) 228-4495

Online registration is closed.
« Go to Upcoming Event List  


When: February 19 - 20, 2020

Where: Hyatt Regency San Antonio Riverwalk
            123 Losoya Street (210.222.1234)

Contact: Layne Wroblewski (405) 228-4495


DAY 1 Wednesday, February 19th

7:15 AM      Continental Breakfast/Check-In and Walk-Up Registration

8:00 AM      Call to Order and Welcoming Address
                   Bob Adair, Principal Advisor, Phillips66 and Tax Committee Chair—TXOGA
                   Introduction of the TXOGA Ad Valorem Tax Chair
                   Kerry Albright, Manager, Property & Severance Tax—Chevron

8:05 AM      TXOGA Remarks & Legislative Issues
                   Todd Staples, President—TXOGA

8:30 AM      The Outlook for the Texas Economy and State Finances (Presentation)
                   Dale Craymer, President—Texas Taxpayers and Research Association (TTARA) 

9:20 AM      Property Tax Assistance Division Update
                   Korry Castillo & Rick Parker, Property Tax Assistance Division—TX Comptroller

9:45 AM      Break

10:00 AM    The Honorable Peter P. Flores, Texas State Senator District 19 

10:25 AM    What Have the Courts Done to Us Now? 2018-2019 Case Law Review (Presentation)
                   John Brusniak—Brusniak Turner Fine LLP 

11:15 AM    The Honorable Glenn Hegar, Texas Comptroller

11:40 AM    Texas Tax Fight 2020 (Presentation)
                  James LeBas—Texas Fiscal Consulting 

12:05 PM    Lunch

1:05 PM     Texas Senate Bill 2 roundtable discussion (Presentation)
                 Presented by the TXOGA Ad Valorem Tax Committee Legislative Subcommittee
                 Rodger Kret, Property Tax Manager, East of Rockies—Chevron
1:30 PM     The Honorable Dan Patrick, Lieutenant Governor of Texas

1:55 PM      Commodity Price Outlook (Presentation)
                   John Saucer, Vice President Research & Analysis—Mobius Risk Group 

2:45 PM      Break
3:00 PM      Minerals Parameters Review (Presentation)

3:15 PM      Ad Valorem Tax Legislative Update
                   Rodger Kret, Property Tax Manager, East of Rockies—Chevron

3:45 PM     Pipeline Parameters Review (Presentation)
                  Bruce Nielson, CPA, Director Ad Val./Trans. Tax—The Williams Companies, Inc.

4:00 PM     Tax Rate Review
                  Michael Read, Tax Advisor—BP

4:10 PM     Texas Ad Valorem Taxes from Local Governments’ Perspectives (Presentation) 
                  Bob Adair, Principal Advisor, Phillips66 and Tax Committee Chair—TXOGA
                  The Honorable Hugh D. Shine, Texas State Representative District-55
                  Adam Haynes, Policy Director—Texas Conference of Urban Counties
                  James LeBas—Texas Fiscal Consulting

5:00 PM     Recognition of the 2019 Distinguished Service Award Recipient—John Valenta
                  Introduction by Carl Walker, Senior Analyst, TTARA
                  Recognition by various Ad Valorem Tax Committee Subcommittee Chairs and others within the Industry

5:30 PM     HOSPITALITY RECEPTION sponsored by Merit Advisors

DAY 2 Thursday, February 20th

7:15 AM    Late Registration/Breakfast sponsored by PowerPlan

8:00 AM    Call to Order and Conference Notes
                 Layne Wroblewski, CPA, Manager Indirect Tax & Administration—Devon Energy
                 Presentation of the 2020 Distinguished Service Awards
                 Kerry Albright, Manager, Property & Severance Tax—Chevron

8:15 AM   Chapter 313 abatements (Presentation)
Stephen A. Kuntz, Partner—Norton Rose Fulbright

9:05 AM   Refining Trends and Outlook (Presentation)
                 Karl Bartholomew, Tax Lead—Shell

9:55 AM   Break

10:10 AM M&A Activity in the Energy Industry (Presentation)
Christopher L. Watson, Managing Director, Mrgrs. & Acqs. Group--Barclays Capital

11:00 AM  Ethics
                 Mark Quiner Director, Center for Ethics in Government—Natl Conf of State Legis.

11:50 AM  Wrap Up, Door Prize, Adjournment

Event Registration Information 

  • Member registration fee: Effective February 3, 2020, Member registration fee is $245 and non-member registration fee is $270
  • Online Registration ends on February 10th. Walk-in registration will be permitted at the conference registration desk beginning Wednesday, February 19th.
  • To pay for your registration with a check, make your check payable to TXOGA and bring to the conference registration desk or mail both the check and a copy of the invoice to:
    RES Property Tax
    Attn:  Jackie Cervantes EC4 4N304
    P.O. Box 2197
    Houston, TX  77252

Hotel Information 

  • The hotel is completely sold out but there are nearby hotels with availability including the TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown which is next door to the hotel. 

Truett Phillips Memorial Golf Tournament Information sponsored by CrowdReason

  • When: Tuesday, February 18th, 2020, 1:00 PM Shotgun Start
  • Where: The Quarry Golf Course located at 444 E Basse Rd, San Antonio (210.824.4500)
  • Cost: $100 price includes lunch, Adidas polo, cart, unlimited use of practice facilities, and fabulous prizes.
  •  Contact: Shane S. Smith (832) 843-6657

*Times subject to change 

Registration is to the benefit of our member companies and those interested in promoting the mission of the Texas Oil and Gas Association. To that end, we reserve the right to refuse admittance/registration to the event. If admittance/registration to the event is declined, you will not be allowed entrance to the event, and your registration payment, if received, will be refunded as soon as practicable. Payment is a condition to considering the application and does not constitute acceptance of the application. 


304 West 13th Street Austin, TX 78701
(512) 478-6631